For most of us, we remember being asked what we wanted to be when we grew up.  My answer was always a nurse.  Somehow though, when I was in high school and could have started taking some nursing classes then, I didn’t.  The years I schooling that I thought it would take seemed daunting to me, so I gave up on the idea of that career path.  Some days I wonder what my life would be like now had I pursued it anyway.

Surprisingly (or not surprisingly), there are a number of jobs that go against the beliefs of Jehovah’s Witnesses, and therefore anyone looking for employment would need to steer clear of them if they want to remain in good standing within the Watchtower Society.   Here are five of them, in no particular order:

BBall player pic5) Professional ball player

4) Actor/singer/rapper

3) Author of any self-help book

2) Psychic

1) Nun

I could have included the reasons why each of the above professions are not allowed, but I would have found myself copying and pasting pretty much the same thing for each one. A main reason is that most of these would require spending an excessive of time with worldly people, who, in JW eyes, are bad association.  A good and faithful Jehovah’s Witness associates only with fellow Witnesses…no chance of picking up bad habits there…

Stack Of Books

Another reason is that these jobs wouldn’t allow enough time for studying, regular meeting attendance, and the required field service hours–all of which are vital to any worshiper of Jehovah.  Actually, I can give more specific reasons for a couple of the above jobs.  Besides the reasons I already mentioned, there’s yet another reason why a JW can’t author self-help books.  It’s because the answer to all of life’s problems is The Bible, plain and simple.  Any other advice is simply man’s thoughts based on imperfect thinking and reasoning.

The psychic and nun are obvious I think…JW’s don’t believe in psychics and things of that nature.  Anything that can’t be explained is from Satan and his demons, they say.  Nuns, even though they believe in God and live to follow His principles, do not worship the true God, Jehovah, nor are their beliefs in harmony with JW beliefs.  So, in essence, they worship Satan.

For the unfortunate Witness kid that dreams of becoming any one of the above people when he or she grows up, I hope they find a career that will still be rewarding and will allow them to share their talents and abilities with the world.  I believe that there is a place for God in our life, but serving him doesn’t have to interfere with our dreams, or vice versa.  kid thinking

