What do chocolate bunnies, colored eggs, and baskets all have in common? If you said they’re part of Easter celebrations, you’d be partly right. There’s something else they have in common—Pagan roots!

Why Do Origins Matter?

Easter basketThey really don’t, not anymore. I mean, most people don’t even know the origins of holidays, and even if they do, we celebrate them for different reasons nowadays. Most holidays are all about having fun and spending time with family and friends. Try telling that to a Jehovah’s Witness, though. To them, it doesn’t matter if the origins are still relevant or not…if they in any way go against their beliefs, and especially if they involve Pagans, they are to steer clear of it.

But Isn’t Easter About Jesus?

To most people, Easter is about the resurrection of Jesus Christ. If you’re a Christian, this is a big deal to you, and therefore celebrating Easter would be a big deal to you. In case you didn’t know, JW’s are Christians, too. Yet they want nothing to do with Easter because of those pesky origins. I’m not going to go into detail about what they are, that can easily be Googled. My job is simply to let people know why Witnesses roll their eyes when talks of Easter egg hunts and Easter baskets come up. Oh, and don’t get them started on Easter Sunday! How full the churches get for that one day out of the year, while the rest of the year there are rows of empty seats. For shame! Lol.

When I was a Witness, the one thing I looked forward to around this time of year were the chocolate marshmallow bunnies. As a lover of sweets, I didn’t care if it was holiday-related or not. I bought it. I’m sure many other JW’s would have disapproved of my sweet selections, but whatever. It was the only time of year you could get marshmallow bunnies and eggs.

Choc bunnyThis year, my husband and I took our daughter to have her picture taken with the Easter bunny. The photographer got her to smile eventually, and the picture came out beautifully. My mom bought her a lovely Easter outfit, and this Sunday she is coming to church with us, where me and the rest of the choir will sing some special Easter songs. I am fully embracing my exit from the JW cult, enjoying every birthday, holiday, and other things this world has to offer. The origins are in the past—the present is for family, friends, and fun.

