My husband told me recently that he likes when I wear dresses and skirts. The whole time we’ve been together, the only times he’s seen me dress that way was for church. I never thought about it before, but when he mentioned this to me, I was able to pinpoint what the issue is.

A Uniform

When you’re a Jehovah’s Witness, you dress up to go worship. Men wear suits and ties, women wear modest dresses and skirts. Same goes for kids. Anything else is unacceptable. Whether it’s an assembly, convention, or even touring the Watchtower facilities, you better put on your “meeting clothes”.

As far back as I can remember, I never liked ‘dressing up’ if I didn’t have to. It reminded me of going to a meeting or in the door-to-door ministry, neither of which I cared for. So my clothing of choice was jeans and sneakers.

This, I realized, was why as an adult I avoided buying pretty sundresses and such…subconsciously of course. I’ve decided that this summer, I will buy a few cute dresses and skirts to wear when my husband and I go out together. This will help me to associate feminine clothing to fun, enjoyable things.

Watchtower Style

Here are some other parts of the JW dress code you may find interesting:

  • Men aren’t allowed to have beards

  • Women having multiple piercings is frowned upon

  • Bold hairstyles and colors are considered “worldly”

  • Males have to have short hair

  • Tattoos are a no-no

  • Ears are the only things allowed to be pierced

  • Only modest, gender-appropriate clothing is allowed

I’m sure if I think hard enough, I could go on. But I’ll end it here for now. In some ways, their style of dress isn’t much different from other religious folk. Other things, however, are a bit extreme. This just goes to show the lengths the leaders of the Jehovah’s Witnesses will go to in order to distance themselves further and further away from everyone else.

Next Week!

In my next blog, I will explain some of the JW terminology, like “worldly” and “meetings” mentioned above. Who knew religion should come with an English lesson! Bring a pad and pen and takes notes, you’ll want to know this.

